We have now implemented non-admin restrictions on many actions that were previously able to be performed by anyone who had access to a repository.
From now on only administrators of a repository can:
We've just released a new way of implementing a merge freeze, so now you have two options. Let's take a look at what they are:
Freezing and unfreezing will push a new merge freeze status update to all open pull requests. All PRs will see this:
Freezing will add a protected branch rule on the repository, unfreezing will remove it again. All PRs will see this:
Option 2 requires write permissions to your repository's "administration" privilege. Unfortunately Github's permissions aren't granular enough to be able to update a branch protection rule without this permission being granted. Existing users will receive an email from Github telling them that the Merge Freeze app is requesting these new permissions. The above new option is the reason for this request.